Edible Monterey Bay

Vote Now for Your Local Food Heroes!

Local-Hero-2015September 30, 2014 – Voting is now officially open for the 2015 EMB Local Heroes Awards! Our 4th annual awards are aimed at recognizing local farmers, chefs, food and drink artisans, nonprofits, food retailers and—for the first time this year—pastry chefs in the tri​-​county region of Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz Counties who have made exceptional contributions to our local food community. Winners will be announced in our spring 2015 issue, which will also feature articles about them. To vote now, go to: www.ediblefeast.com/article/local-heroes-montereybay-2015. Voting will close on Friday, Dec. 12 at 12pm.

Local Heroes selected for 2014 by readers of Edible Monterey Bay included: Jeff Larkey of Route 1 Farms – Best Farmer; Brad Briske of La Balena – Best Chef; Scott Roseman of New Leaf Community Markets – Best Food Purveyor; Tabitha Stroup of Friend in Cheeses Jam Co. – Best Food Artisan; Emily Thomas of Santa Cruz Mountain Brewing – Best Beverage Artisan; and Nancy Birang and Karen Harelson of Nourishing Generations Educational Project – Best Nonprofit. Read more about our 2014 local heroes here…